Entitlement

I’m not often one for writing prompts. But the daily post’s today slides too close to the bone.

 You just inherited $1,000,000 from an aunt you didn’t even know existed. What’s the first thing you buy (or otherwise use the money for)?

… I would pay for my university fees.

And put the same amount aside for post-grad, which my government will not provide assistance for. (Because who needs education that isn’t part of a beeline towards lifetime employment, right?)

After that, I would buy shoes. Leather, that would last. And then the rest would go into my savings account, to wait.

I’m nineteen. I’m not hard-up, compared to many students. But the ever-rising cost of food and rent, of university fees and textbooks, of living in 2014, makes for quite the crash course.

I’d like to spend on heels and holidays. But that’s not what we dream about now.

Instead, we think:

Maybe I’ll be able to move out into a flat with other two people instead of seven, and somehow be able to afford it. Maybe the uni won’t raise it’s fees again next year. Maybe I’ll be able to get by with only have one job on top of uni work. Maybe I’ll be able to travel someday for the love of it, and not on a working holiday or uni exchange.

Maybe everyone with grey hair and a position of influence will stop telling me that all my problems would go away if I just worked harder. Like theirs did. Maybe they’ll notice that they paid half the fees, didn’t need a degree to be considered for a job interview, lived in a time when there was housing and jobs in plenty. Maybe they’ll spend their energy fixing the world and economy they’ve fucked up, instead of telling us we don’t deserve to inherit it.

Maybe I have an aunt somewhere with a $1,000,000 cheque.

Leave a Reply

